

Government Complex-Gwacheon, 47, Gwanmun-ro, Gwacheon-si, Gyeonggi-do, 13809, KOREA

16th June, 2016

Subject: Nomination and Letter of Support for the Chairman of APT Conference Preparatory Group 19

Dear Ms. Areewan Haorangsi, the Secretary General of APT,

On behalf of Korea Ministry of Science, ICT and Future Planning, I am very pleased to nominate Dr. Kyu Jin Wee as a candidate for the position of APT Conference Preparatory Group Chairman at the upcoming APG-19 meeting.

Dr. Wee has been actively involved in various APT activities starting in 1992 where he served as the Chair of various level of groups including Chairman of APT Management Committee. Noticeably, his activity in APG began in 1996 where he has been serving as the Vice Chair of APG since 2008 for two consecutive terms.

With his extensive experience in APG and his superb leadership skills, the Korea Ministry of Science, ICT and Future Planning is confident that Dr. Wee will not only serve for the benefit of the members of APT, but also further heighten APT.

Yours Sincerely,

Jun Sung Bae Director General, Radio Policy Bureau Minister of Science, ICT and Future Planning

Curriculum Vitae



Name:Dr. Kyu-Jin WEEBirth Date:25 February 1956Nationality:Korea (Rep. of)Affiliation:Telecommunications Technology Association (TTA)
(47 Bundang-ro Bundang-gu Seongnam Kyeongki, Korea)Mobile / E-mail:+82-31-724-0100 / kjwee@tta.or.kr

EDUCATION

February 1981:	B.S. in Electrical Engineering in Younsei University, Seoul, Republic of Korea
February 1983:	M.S. in Electrical Engineering in Younsei University, Seoul, Republic of Korea
February 1988:	Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering in Younsei University, Seoul, Republic of Korea

Major International Positions

1997 – 1999:	Chairman, ITU-R TG8/1 WG4
2001 - 2007:	Vice-Chairman, ITU-R WP8F
2001 - 2003:	Chairman, APT Preparatory Group for the Asia Pacific Region for WRC-03 (APG) WP2
2003 :	Vice-Chair of Committee 7, WRC 03
2003 – 2006:	Vice-Chairman of APT Management Committee
2004 :	Chairman, 3GPP PCG
2004 - 2007:	Chairman, APT Preparatory Group for the Asia Pacific Region for WRC-07 (APG) WP1
2007 - 2011:	Vice Chairman, ITU-R SG5
2008 - 2015:	Vice-Chairman, APT Preparatory Group for the Asia Pacific Region for WRC (APG)
2009 - 2012:	Chairman of APT Management Committee
2010 :	Chairman of Committee 3, PP-10
2012 :	Chairman of Committee 2, WTSA-12
2012 - 2015:	Vice Chairman of CPM
2008 – Present:	Vice Chairman, ITU-R WP5D
2016 – Present:	Vice Chairman, ITU-R Radiocommunication Advisory Group (RAG)

Carrier Summary

- EMI regulation developing, Adviser to Spectrum Management Dept. of MIC as a Senior Research Officer of Radio Research Laboratory, Ministry of Information and Communication, Rep. of Korea. Activities included PCS Spectrum Allocation, IMT-2000 spectrum allocation, Long-term Spectrum Management Planning, International and National policies concerning radio communication standards and International Telecommunication Union(ITU) and APT(Asia Pacific Telecommunity) matters, particularly WRC, ITU-R SG8 matters, APG, APT IMT-2000 Forum. Made valuable contributions in the standards of IMT-2000 in ITU-R TG8/1, WP8F, 3GPP and 3GPP2.
- During the Chairman of APT Management Committee (2009-2012) he has initiated the improvement

of all APT Regulations and governing rules, which were not reviewed since 1979. With this initiation, APT suppressed 10 Resolutions and revised more than 20 governing Rules. He has also initiated the work to develop APT Documents Framework which is now being used by APT GA, MC and all Work Programmes including APG.

- Lecture of Yonsei University on Electrical Engineering for 6 years
- Principal Researcher of Central Research Lab., Oriental Chemical Industry for the developing the electronic parts, piezoelectric filters for 2 years

Major International Activities

- Actively participating in various activities of ITU, APT, IEC and other international fora for 25 years. These included, inter alia, World Radiocommunication Conferences, Radiocommunication Assembly, ITU-R SG8, ITU-R TG8/1, ITU-R WP8F, IEC CISPR, APT WRC Preparatory Group(APG), APT Standardization Program, APT Management Committee, 3GPP and 3GPP2
- Chaired and Vice-Chaired many international meetings, committees, working groups, panels etc.
- Head/Alternative Head of Korean delegations to the various ITU-R meetings
- Head of Korean delegations to 3GPP and 3GPP2
- Member of Korean Delegations to WRC-95, WRC-97, WRC-2000, WRC-03, WRC-07, WRC-11 and WRC-2015
- Deputy Head of Delegation of Korea to RA03, WRC03, RA07, WRC07 and WRC-2011

Major national activities

- Acting Director General, Radio Research Agency
- Director, Radio Research Agency
- Vice-Chairman, Steering Group of WRC Preparatory Group of Korea
- Chairman, Standard Group on IMT-2000 of Telecommunication Technology Association(TTA)
- Chairman, Spectrum Management Group of Korea Radio Promotion Association
- Members of various national committee related to radiocommunication activities/policies, including spectrum assignments
- Adviser to the Wireless Intellectual Promotion Association
- Adviser to the Korea Highway Corporation
- Certificated as Standard Expert by Minister of MIC
- Chairman, TC07(Mobile communication) of TTA

Publications

- Presented and published many articles and papers on a various subjects, especially related to spectrum management, radio regulations and electromagnetic compatibility in various international and national journals, seminar, panel discussions including IEEE, KICS, TTA and RAPA
- Delivered lectures and keynote address in international and national fora.
- Report on IMT-2000 for APT

Awards

- Awarded Diploma of Recognition by Korea President for outstanding contribution to the International Activities.(2001)
- Awarded Diploma of Recognition by Minister of MISP for outstanding contribution to WRC-15 (2016)
- Awarded Diploma of Recognition by Minister of MIC for outstanding contribution to WRC-97 (1998)
- Awarded Diploma of Recognition by Minister of MOD for the exemplary soldier(1978)
- Awarded Diploma of Recognition by Secretary General of Telecommunication Technology Association for outstanding contribution of Standardizing to industry(1997)